British Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a play-based framework that sets out the learning and development stages for children as they grow from birth to the age of five, recognising that children develop more rapidly during these first five years than at any other time in the lives. The framework ensures children are given a broad range of knowledge and skills with which to build a strong foundation for school and life. 

EYFS sets out seven important inter-connected areas of learning. Of these, three are Prime areas crucial for igniting children’s natural curiosity, building their capacity to learn, forming relationships and thriving in their environment.  These three prime areas form the foundation for the remaining four Specific areas of learning.

The 7 Areas of Learning

The 7 Areas of Learning

Children are born ready and eager to learn. They actively reach out and interact with other people and the world around them. EYFS framework recognises that an effective learning and development process depends on each child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and in enabling environments.

A Unique Child

Each child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationship

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments

Children develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents, and/or carers

Learning & Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rate. Learning is fostered through Characteristics of Effective Learning